ASSC7 Home  Seventh Conference
 of the Association for the 
Scientific Study of Consciousness


ASSC7 Home

ASSC7 Call for Papers

ASSC7 Online Submission

ASSC7 Plenary Speakers

ASSC7: Contact us at

The seventh meeting of the Association for the Scientific Study of Consciousness will be held from May 30th to June 2nd, 2003, at the University of Memphis in Memphis, Tennessee. 



Invited plenary speakers and symposia will address current empirical and theoretical issues in the study of consciousness, focusing on the theme of models and mechanisms of consciousness. The conference will explore the many connections between models of consciousness and their psychological and neurobiological mechanisms, from the perspectives of philosophy, neuroscience, psychology, linguistics, computer science, cognitive ethology, and artificial intelligence. Plenary symposia will include:

Global Workspace Theory
Computational models of consciousness
Binocular rivalry and the NCC
The role of feedback and re-entrant mechanisms in consciousness
Animal consciousness

The list of plenary speakers includes Igor Aleksander, Bernard J. Baars, Ned Block, Sarah T. Boysen, Peter Carruthers, Axel Cleeremans, Daniel C. Dennett, Vince Di Lollo, Bill Fields, Stan Franklin, Walter J. Freeman, Christof Koch, Victor A.F. Lamme, David Leopold, Lionel Naccache, Alva Noe, Alvaro Pascual-Leone, Sue Savage-Rumbaugh, Aaron Sloman, Petra Stoerig and Frank Tong.

ASSC7 is intended to promote interdisciplinary dialogue in the scientific study of consciousness, and as in previous years almost half the program will be set aside for concurrent sessions of submitted talks. ASSC7 will provide an excellent opportunity for the presentation of new empirical findings or novel theoretical perspectives in an atmosphere that will promote discussion and debate.

ASSC is the only international scientific organization devoted to the study of consciousness.


- January 31st for Workshop proposals
- March 8th for Submissions
- April 22nd for Early registration (Extended)

To enquire about any aspect of the conference, please write to

On behalf of the Scientific Programme Committee:

Bernard J Baars, The Neurosciences Institute
David Chalmers, University of Arizona
Axel Cleeremans, Universite Libre de Bruxelles
Stan Franklin, University of Memphis
Thomas Metzinger,
Johannes Gutenberg Universitat
Geraint Rees, University College London
Ron Sun,
University of Missouri-Columbia
Patrick Wilken, California Institute of Technology

 Institute for Intelligent Systems
The Institute for Intelligent Systems
Computer Science Division in University of Memphis
University of Memphis

Last updated on June 5, 2003


Questions/suggestions about this website? - Please contact Uma Ramamurthy